The Four Elements of Nature

The Four Elements of Nature are represented within three signs of the zodiac:

Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

The water and earth signs are moist and semi-moist and receptive in nature, so considered fertile and semi-fertile. The fire and air signs are hot and dry in nature, and less receptive than water and earth, so defined as barren and very barren.

Moonlight Calendar has a simplified system, with colour-coded backgrounds for the elements for easy reference for gardening activities (for more detail refer to How to read your calendar).